Why Blog

I’m passionate about finding ways to simplify comprehension instruction and learning. I’m concerned that we are defining comprehension too narrowly as an accumulation of five or six meta-cognitive strategies when cultivating comprehension involves so much more than that. We need to help children acquire accurate fluent reading skills and strategies; build background knowledge; develop their oral language and vocabulary; make reading-writing connections, and acquire a repertoire of meta-cognitive strategies to use as and if needed.

So I invite you to join me in blogging about this ever-so-important topic. I look forward to hearing your ideas, teaching strategies, book recommendations, classroom stories, etc., basically anything that will inspire a healthy conversation among colleagues.

Saturday, January 22, 2011

If You Like Mercy Watson...

Linda’s recommendation of the Mercy Watson series (see comment box for January 20) as great books for our short and sweet chapter books list reminded me of a “series” of new picture books I recently came across (and now own) that are written and illustrated by Chris Van Dusen, the illustrator of the Mercy Watson series. They’re about Mr. Magee and his dog Dee—and yep, they rhyme. Besides the illustrations practically popping right off the page, they’re sure to tickle your children’s funnybone. Here are three titles in the series: Learning to Ski with Mr. MageeDown to the Sea with Mr. Magee, and A Camping Spree with Mr. Magee. 


  1. Thanks for sharing these books, rhyming is so important for earlier readers and literacy development. I also love there is a "series" for my kdg. students. They are in my shopping cart.

  2. I just clicked over to your new blog from the Choice Literacy newsletter - I'm so excited to see you blogging! I attended a Heinemann workshop you did a few years ago and have used On Solid Ground ever since in my primary classes. I'm gonna be a follower!

  3. Thanks Wendi. As I said before, this is all new to me, so the technology itself is a challenge. However, I think it will be fun. And I need to keep a healthy balance between book recommendations and best practice. Nice to be in touch though and glad On Solid Ground has been helpful.